Grand National Trainers

10:50, 20 Feb 2019 Updated 11:03, 20 Feb 2019
Use Grand National trainers stats and trends to help you to identify the winner of this year's Grand National.

Many people like to place their grand national bets on a favourite trainer or a popular, well known trainer.

Using our trends showing the performance of each trainer's past grand national runners, you can see the best grand national trainers to follow and those to avoid. The following table highlights some of the most prominent Grand National trainers and their record for the past 20 years:
TrainerRunnersWinsPlaced**CompletedWin LSPEach Way LSP
Paul Nicholls701623/70-36.00-30.00
Nigel Twiston-Davies412313/41-12.00-4.63
Willie Mullins331214/33-25.00-24.00
Jonjo ONeill311713/31-20.002.00
David Pipe311117/31-23.00-23.38
Venetia Williams22106/2279.0041.50
Kim Bailey14036/14-14.00-4.88
Gordon Elliott13118/1321.0011.13
Sue Smith11104/1156.0031.25
Mouse Morris9104/925.0012.63
Evan Williams9056/9-9.004.25
Tom George8023/8-8.00-0.75
Tony Martin7002/7-7.00-7.00
Noel Meade6002/6-6.00-6.00
Charlie Longsdon4001/4-4.00-4.00
Henry De Bromhead3001/3-3.00-3.00
Jim Culloty3002/3-3.00-3.00
Fergal OBrien3022/3-3.004.63
Colin Tizzard2001/2-2.00-2.00
Ian Williams2011/2-2.004.75
Gavin Patrick Cromwell1000/1-1.00-1.00
Antony Honeyball1001/1-1.00-1.00
Jennie Candlish0000/00.000.00
Stuart Coltherd0000/00.000.00
Patrick Griffin0000/00.000.00
Richard Hobson0000/00.000.00
Daniel Skelton0000/00.000.00

**Placed refers to rides that finished between 2nd and 5th as most bookmakers will pay on at least five places for the Grand National

The following table highlights some of the most prominent Grand National trainers and their record for the past 20 years for runners over the national fences so includes the Becher, Fox Hunters, Sefton, Topham and Grand National:
TrainerRunnersWinsPlacedCompletedWin LSPEach Way LSP
Paul Nicholls17082290/170-57.50-49.84
Nigel Twiston-Davies1069951/106-26.25-21.97
Jonjo ONeill6751029/67-5.507.11
David Pipe663338/66-23.00-31.13
Willie Mullins572929/57-38.00-24.43
Venetia Williams542624/5456.0031.38
Sue Smith412523/4141.0019.35
Tom George340516/34-34.00-18.88
Kim Bailey280812/28-28.00-11.94
Gordon Elliott251216/259.001.00
Evan Williams170710/17-17.008.25
Tony Martin15027/15-15.00-12.56
Mouse Morris14117/1420.0010.63
Colin Tizzard13128/1338.0025.98
Noel Meade12016/12-12.00-10.38
Ian Williams12147/12-6.503.30
Charlie Longsdon9002/9-9.00-9.00
Fergal OBrien9024/9-9.00-1.38
Henry De Bromhead6013/6-6.00-3.75
Patrick Griffin5014/5-5.003.75
Jim Culloty4002/4-4.00-4.00
Stuart Coltherd4114/497.0060.00
Jennie Candlish2001/2-2.00-2.00
Gavin Patrick Cromwell1000/1-1.00-1.00
Antony Honeyball1001/1-1.00-1.00
Richard Hobson1000/1-1.00-1.00
Daniel Skelton1000/1-1.00-1.00

Trainers With Winning Grand National Records

The Grand National has proved to be a race where certain trainers have had continued success.
These trainers know what is required to win the Grand National. This could be their year all over again! We will pay special attention to their runners.

Nigel Twiston Davies Runners

Nigel Twiston Davies has won the Grand National twice with Earth Summit and Bindaree and he's also won more races over the Grand National fences over the oast twenty years than any other trainer.
Twiston Davies' runners always warrant the closest inspection but this year he has one of the favourites in Blaklion who finished fourth last year and has been in excellent form this season as well.

Paul Nicholls Runners

The current champion trainer has had rather a mixed bag from his runners in the National and finally registered his first win with Neptune Collonges in 2012.

David Pipe Runners

Martin Pipe's son David is now very much forging his own reputation and he has had multiple entries in the Grand National since taking over from his father. Comply or Die won the race for him in 2008 and also finished runner-up the following year. Surprisingly no other David Pipe horse has managed to place since in the Grand National.

Willie Mullins Runners

Willie Mullins won the Grand National in 2005 with Hedgehunter who, but for falling at the last in 2004, could have also been placed on two further occasions. Mullins also guided the consistent Snowy Morning to third place in 2008 but it could be argued that this is a disappointing return for such a strong stable.

Gordon Elliott Runners

Gordon Elliott won the Grand National with his first runner, Silver Birch, in 2007 and this year he saddles three runners, all of whom look to have decent chances. Elliott has farmed the majority of the big handicap chases in Ireland this season and he would dearly love to get his hands on the Grand National trophy once again

So the grand national tip based on trainer form is to beware of backing a horse just because it is from a popular yard but do play close attention to the runners of Nigel Twiston-Davies who regularly reward each-way support.

18+Gamble Aware

Odds are correct at time of publishing but are subject to change

20/02/19 11:05:01