Top Grand National Jockeys

Many people like to follow a favourite jockey with their Grand National money. Are they wise? Are they picking the correct jockeys to follow?

Here are the Grand National jockey statistics over the past 20 renewals. R = Runners, W = Winners, P = Places (Placed refers to rides that finished between 2nd and 5th as most bookmakers will pay on at least five places for the Grand National) C = Completed the race:

Jockey R-W-P-C Win EW
Davy Russell 15-2-3-8 +1.00 +1.00
Timmy Murphy 14-1-4-6 -6.00 -6.00
Robbie Power 12-1-2-7 +22.00 +22.00
Daryl Jacob 11-1-2-6 +23.00 +23.00
Graham Lee 8-1-2-4 +9.00 +9.00
Niall P Madden 6-1-1-4 +6.00 +6.00
David Mullins 4-1-2-3 +30.00 +30.00
Ryan Mania 2-1-1-2 +65.00 +65.00
Derek Fox 2-1-1-2 +13.00 +13.00
Richard Johnson 18-0-2-6 -18.00 -18.00
Tom Scudamore 18-0-0-10 -18.00 -18.00
Aidan Coleman 12-0-0-3 -12.00 -12.00
Paddy Brennan 11-0-1-2 -11.00 -11.00
Denis O'Regan 11-0-1-4 -11.00 -11.00
Tom O'Brien 11-0-1-5 -11.00 -11.00

Here are the Grand National jockey statistics over the past 20 renewals for rides over the national fences. R = Runners, W = Winners, P = Places (Placed refers to rides that finished between 2nd and 5th as most bookmakers will pay on at least five places for the Grand National) C = Completed the race. Statistics include Becher, Fox Hunters, Sefton, Topham and Grand National:

Jockey R-W-P-C Win EW
Mr Sam Waley-Cohen 34-6-13-25 +35.33 +35.33
Tom O'Brien 39-3-9-21 +3.00 +3.00
Sam Twiston-Davies 32-3-4-18 -4.00 -4.00
Davy Russell 30-3-4-17 +37.00 +37.00
Tom Scudamore 49-2-6-28 -14.00 -14.00
Paddy Brennan 41-2-10-26 -13.00 -13.00
Daryl Jacob 30-2-10-18 +17.00 +17.00
Brian Hughes 30-2-5-17 +4.00 +4.00
Jamie Moore 25-2-3-9 +16.00 +16.00
Sean Bowen 12-2-3-7 +1.50 +1.50
James Best 7-2-4-5 +13.00 +13.00
Harry Cobden 6-2-2-4 +60.00 +60.00
Richard Johnson 41-1-9-21 -26.00 -26.00
Aidan Coleman 30-1-2-11 -23.50 -23.50
Timmy Murphy 29-1-8-17 -21.00 -21.00

Grand National Jockey Records

The stats on the rest of this page show last year's race first and goes back ten seasons. If a jockey didn't have a ride, this is marked by a -

PU - horse pulled up and didn't complete the course

F - Fell

UR - horse unseated the rider (jockey fell off!)

BD - Brought Down (not the horse or jockey's fault, another horse fell into them)

CO - Carried Out (pushed off the course by another horse)

REF - Refused (the horse stopped before the fence as it didn't fancy jumping it)

Davy Russell

Ten Year Record: 1, 1, 3, 8, -, PU, -, F, F, 11

Davy Russell's first twelve rides in the Grand National were pretty uninspiring as he failed to complete seven times and his best finish was seventh on Joes Edge in 2006. Things started to improve in 2017 when Tom George called Russell in to ride the useful Saint Are who belied his odds of 25/1 to finish a gallant third behind One For Arthur. In 2018 Russell was called upon by his former employers, Gigginstown House Stud, to ride the recent Cheltenham Cross Country winner Tiger Roll. The rest is history as the duo held on for a head victory that year and then a much more comfortable win in 2019.

Daryl Jacob

Ten Year Record: 18, UR, UR, 6, 12, -, 12, 1, PU, F

Daryl Jacob won the Grand National on Neptune Collonges in 2012 and completed the course on five other occasions. Jacob has an excellent record generally over the National fences with two wins, eight places and 18 completions from 29 rides. As first jockey to Simon Munir, Jacob is likely to be riding Bristol De Mai in the 2021 Grand National.

Sam Waley-Cohen

Ten Year Record: -, -, F, P, 15, F, 4, -, 2, -

Sam Waley-Cohen has an amazing record over the Grand National fences but the fact that he is an amateur rider makes his record outstanding. Waley-Cohen has won six races over the big Aintree fences (3 Foxhunters, 2 Topham and 1 Becher Chase) but has yet to win the Grand National but has finished 5th, 4th and 2nd. Surprisingly Waley-Cohen has not had a ride in the National in either of the last two years.

Robbie Power

Ten Year Record: U, 10, 8, 4, 13, -, PU, UR, F, -

Robbie Power has completed in four of his last five Grand Nationals and overall has completed seven of his twelve rides in the race which is a very good completion rate. In addition, he has completed in three of his five other rides over the national fences too. He won the Grand National back in 2007 on Silver Birch on only his second ride in the race. Power regularly rides for Jessica Harrington and will very likely team up with former runner-up Magic Of Light in the 2021 Grand National.

Sean Bowen

Ten Year Record: PU, PU, 12, 15, 11, -, -, -, -, -, -

Youngster Sean Bowen has already competed in five grand nationals and has completed in three of those. He has had the experience of twelve rides over the national fences and has picked up two wins in the Sefton (2016 & 2018). His completion rate stands at just under 60% which includes two wins, a third in the Sefton and a fifth in the Topham. Bowen tends to have nost of his rides for his father or for Harry Fry but neither of those trainers has an obvious National runner this year.

Grand National Jockeys With Poor Records

Some of these are superb jockeys so why is their recent Grand National history so poor? Perhaps it's pressure, luck or maybe their previous bad experiences have affected their confidence?

Richard Johnson

Ten Year Record: F, -, -, PU, F, 2, 15, 12, PU, 9

Richard Johnson is now the unwanted owner of the tag for the most rides in the Grand National (21) without winning the race. Johnson came close to ending that barren run in 2014 when Balthazar King was runner-up but the majority of his other Grand National rides have disappointed. Apart from another second earlier in his career on What's Up Boys, Johnson has rarely looked like winning the National despite being on a number of well-fancied mounts. That could all change this year if former Gold Cup winner Native River is given the all clear for Aintree.

Tom Scudamore

Ten Year Record: 15, 9, 6, UR, 9, 12, 11, F, -, F

Despite riding some top quality horses Scudamore hasn't finished higher than 6th in a Grand National and has failed to finish on eight of his eighteen Grand National rides. All but one of Scudamore's rides have been for the Pipe stable or for Nigel Twiston-Davies and he is likely to partner Ramses De Teillee for David Pipe this year.

Richie McLernon

Ten Year Record: PU, -, 15, F, PU, F, UR, 2, F, F

Richie McLernon has failed to finish in seven of his nine grand national rides and he has fell or been unseated in five of those. The highlight of McLernon's Aintree rides has undoubtedly been when finishing a short-head second to Neptune Collonges on Sunnyhillboy. McLernon is one of JP McManus' retained jockeys and has been partnering that owners well-fancied Kimberlite Candy, including when second over these fences in the Becher Chase.

Aidan Coleman

Ten Year Record: P, P, 17, 13, F, U, U, P, F, F

It would be hard to imagine that the Grand National is high on the list of Aidan Coleman's favourite races as he has failed to complete the course on eight of his last ten attempts. Add that to the fact that he chose not to ride 2009 winner Mon Mome and it would be easy to think that Coleman could do with a change of luck at Aintree. With the retirement of Barry Geraghty, Coleman is likely to come in for a ride on a JP McManus trainer horse so he could well be on Anibale Fly in this year's National.