Top Grand National Jockeys

10:43, 20 Feb 2019 Updated 10:52, 20 Feb 2019
Many people like to follow a favourite jockey with their Grand National money. Are they wise? Are they picking the correct jockeys to follow? The following table highlights some of the most prominent Grand National jockeys and their record for the past 20 years:
Grand National JockeyRidesWinsPlaced**CompletedWin LSPEach Way LSP
Barry Geraghty171410/170.005.13
Tom Scudamore16008/16-16.00-16.00
Davy Russell13016/13-13.00-9.38
Aidan Coleman10003/10-10.00-10.00
Robbie Power10116/1024.0015.63
Paddy Brennan9011/9-9.00-5.38
Daryl Jacob9115/925.0025.63
Tom OBrien9014/9-9.00-7.00
Richie McLernon8012/8-8.00-5.50
Paul Townend8002/8-8.00-8.00
Sam Twiston-Davies8013/8-8.00-5.00
Sam Waley-Cohen8034/8-8.008.50
Brian Hughes6000/6-6.00-6.00
Mark Walsh6000/6-6.00-6.00
Andrew Lynch5001/5-5.00-5.00
Katie Walsh5014/5-5.00-3.50
David Bass4012/4-4.00-2.50
Harry Skelton4012/4-4.00-1.50
Sean Bowen3003/3-3.00-3.00
Danny Cook2000/2-2.00-2.00
Robert Dunne2022/2-2.0017.75
Sean Flanagan2000/2-2.00-2.00
Brendan Powell2001/2-2.00-2.00
Adam Wedge2000/2-2.00-2.00
Jonathan Burke1011/1-1.001.00
Harry Cobden1001/1-1.00-1.00
Charlie Deutsch1001/1-1.00-1.00
Adrian Heskin1000/1-1.00-1.00
Jack Kennedy1001/1-1.00-1.00
Sean Quinlan1001/1-1.00-1.00
Gavin Sheehan1001/1-1.00-1.00
Tom Bellamy0000/00.000.00
Alain Cawley0000/00.000.00
Sam Coltherd0000/00.000.00
Bryony Frost0000/00.000.00
David Mullins0000/00.000.00

**Placed refers to rides that finished between 2nd and 5th as most bookmakers will pay on at least five places for the Grand National

The following table highlights some of the most prominent Grand National jockeys and their record for the past 20 years for rides over the national fences so includes the Becher, Fox Hunters, Sefton, Topham and Grand National:
JockeyRunnersWinsPlacedCompletedWin LSPEach Way LSP
Tom Scudamore392320/39-4.00-9.63
Paddy Brennan372723/37-9.00-3.44
Tom OBrien313415/3111.008.73
Sam Waley-Cohen296720/2940.3341.32
Barry Geraghty284520/2837.0027.00
Davy Russell271114/2724.008.88
Aidan Coleman271111/27-20.50-17.94
Daryl Jacob252715/2522.0035.00
Brian Hughes242313/2410.004.88
Sam Twiston-Davies233212/235.000.54
Richie McLernon20025/20-20.00-13.70
Paul Townend15017/15-15.00-12.75
Robbie Power14118/1420.0011.63
David Bass12026/12-12.00-9.13
Andrew Lynch11025/11-11.00-4.13
Katie Walsh10025/10-10.00-7.25
Harry Skelton10025/10-10.00-5.88
Mark Walsh7001/7-7.00-7.00
Sean Bowen7116/7-2.00-2.50
Sean Quinlan7002/7-7.00-7.00
Jonathan Burke6013/6-6.00-4.00
Gavin Sheehan6124/6-3.250.09
Danny Cook5002/5-5.00-5.00
Robert Dunne5135/50.5023.08
Adrian Heskin5012/5-5.00-1.38
Sean Flanagan3001/3-3.00-3.00
Brendan Powell3002/3-3.00-3.00
Adam Wedge3000/3-3.00-3.00
Harry Cobden2102/249.0030.25
Tom Bellamy2000/2-2.00-2.00
Alain Cawley2001/2-2.00-2.00
Sam Coltherd2002/2-2.00-2.00
Bryony Frost2011/2-2.00-0.95
Charlie Deutsch1001/1-1.00-1.00
Jack Kennedy1001/1-1.00-1.00
David Mullins1011/1-1.002.25

Grand National Jockey Records

The stats on the rest of this page show last year's race first and goes back ten seasons. If a jockey didn't have a ride, this is marked by a -

PU - horse pulled up and didn't complete the course
F - Fell
UR - horse unseated the rider (jockey fell off!)
BD - Brought Down (not the horse or jockey's fault, another horse fell into them)
CO - Carried Out (pushed off the course by another horse)
REF - Refused (the horse stopped before the fence as it didn't fancy jumping it)

Barry Geraghty

Ten Year Record:P, 9,-, P, UR, 9th, F, 4th, F, 4th, 3rd
Barry Geraghty has an excellent overall record in the Grand National with a win on Monty's Pass in 2003 and six other occasions where he has finished in the top six. The last few years have not been quite so kind to Geraghty but he will surely have a good chance in 2018 on Anibale Fly

Daryl Jacob

Ten Year Record:UR, 6, 12, -, 1, PU, F, -, F
Daryl Jacob won the Grand National on Neptune Collonges in 2012 and has completed the course on three of his last four attempts. Jacob has an excellent record generally over the National fences with two wins, seven places and 15 completed rides from 25 rides.

Sorry. Ucello Conti is not running in the 2019 Grand National
Click Here to see the list of this years runners

Sam Waley-Cohen

Ten Year Record:F,P, 15, F, 4, -, 2, -, F, -
Sam Waley-Cohen has an amazing record over the Grand National but the fact that he is an amateur rider makes his record outstanding. Waley-Cohen has won six races over the big Aintree fences (3 Foxhunters, 2 Tophams and 1 Becher Chase) but has yet to win The Grand National but has finished 5th, 4th and 2nd.

Grand National Jockeys With Poor Records

Some of these are superb jockeys so why is their recent Grand National history so poor? Perhaps it's pressure, luck or maybe their previous bad experiences have affected their confidence?

Richard Johnson

Ten Year Record:-,PU,F,2,15,12,PU,9,F,F
Richard Johnson is now the unwanted owner of the tag for the most rides in the Grand National (20) without winning the race. Johnson came close to ending that barren run in 2014 when Balthazar King was runner-up but the majority of his other Grand National rides have disappointed. Apart from another second earlier in his career on Whats Up Boys, Johnson has rarely looked like winning the National despite being on a number of well fancied mounts.

Tom Scudamore

Ten Year Record:6,UR,9,12,11,F,-,F,16,F
Despite riding some top quality horses Scudamore hasn't finished higher than 6th in a Grand National and has failed to finish on eight of his sixteen Grand National rides. Scudamore will be hoping for better luck this year from his mount, Vieux Lion Rouge.

Aidan Coleman

Ten Year Record:17,13,F,U,U,P,F,F,F
It would be hard to imagine that the Grand National is high on the list of Aidan Coleman's favourite races Coleman as failed to complete the Grand National course seven of his last nine attempts. Add that to the fact that he chose not to ride 2009 winner Mon Mome and it would be easy to think that Coleman could do with a change of luck at Aintree.

18+Gamble Aware

Odds are correct at time of publishing but are subject to change

20/02/19 10:55:01