2013 Grand National

OLBG - 2013 Grand National

Race Summary

The 2013 Grand National came under intense media scrutiny after the much publicised changes to the famous Aintree fences that were intended to increase safety to horse and jockey.

Thankfully the new softer fences were a resounding success on the safety front, with a noticeable reduction in the number of fallers during the race.

Another change to the Grand National this year has been the repositioning of the start of the race and that too was a success with the runners starting the race at the first time of asking.

Once the race was underway it was obvious the race was going to be run at a ferocious pace with Balthazar King and Across The Bay setting a scorching gallop over the early fences.

The two front runners kept the lead for a long way with Donald McCain’s Across The Bay only giving up first place as the field crossed the Melling Road for the second time.

At that point Welsh National runner-up Teaforthree took over at the head of affairs, closely pursued by 2011 Grand National runner-up, Oscar Time . These two strong stayers kicked on towards the second-last and appeared to have the race between them but one horse had quietly crept into a promising position; Auroras Encore .

Ryan Mania on Auroras Encore appeared to be confident he had plenty left on his horse and brought Sue Smith’s eleven-year-old gelding to challenge for the lead at the last fence. Mania’s timing was perfect and he had conserved more energy than his his two main opponents.

Auroras Encore powered clear for an eventual nine length success from a fast finishing Cappa Bleu with the gallant Teaforthree and Oscar Time filling the minor places.

Auroras Encore, Oscar Time and Teaforthree in the 2013 Grand National

Auroras Encore

Auroras Encore provided a 66/1 shock when winning the 2013 Grand National, although as a former runner-up in the Scottish National perhaps he shouldn’t have been allowed to go off at such inflated odds.

The Sue Smith trained gelding obviously enjoyed a return to good ground and benefited from the modifications to the Aintree fences that saw all the forty runners make it as far as the seventh fence. Auroras Encore had fell or unseated on six previous occasions in his career prior to Aintree but he handled the new softer obstacles here with aplomb.

Jockey Ryan Mania gave the winner a lovely patient ride producing his mount at the last fence to scoot away from long time leader Teaforthree and the fast finishing Cappa Bleu. 

Winner Comments From Owners, Trainer and Jockey

Douglas Pryde, Jim Beaumont and David Van Der Hoeven

“We bought him at Christmas and his first run for us was in the Rowland Meyrick Chase at Wetherby, but the plan to run him here was made when we bought him. His form when second in last year’s Scottish National was in our mind and we have just been waiting for this better ground.”

“In all my time in horse racing I’ve always wanted to bring a horse to the Grand National, and it’s just very nice to win it.”

Auroras Encore

Sue Smith

“I should be in tears, like Harvey,” said Mrs Smith, 65. “Ryan (Mania) gave the horse such a good ride. We knew the ground was right, we knew everything else was and it was. “He had a bit of luck in running but he didn’t have much weight so that helped. But it was no fluke. The horse has plenty of miles on the clock and is very sensible, he’s a brilliant ride.”

“Ryan has given the horse a magnificent ride”

Grand National runners jumping a fence in the Aintree Grand National 2013

Ryan Mania

Mania said: “It’s unbelievable - people keep telling me to look happy and I am, but I just cannot believe it’s happened. It’s a dream and you cannot explain what it’s like.”

“I was happy with my early position and he jumped really well over the early fences, with just the odd mistake here and there. He was on his head a bit, but he learned from those mistakes and learned to back off the fences a bit. He was always travelling so well.”

“I got a blow into him after Becher’s, and having ridden here in November I remembered that I probably kicked on a bit soon then and realised you have to give them a chance to get their breath."

“I was sixth or seventh and had a bit of daylight and a clear run - I was very lucky and that’s what you need in the National."

“My only ambition was to get round, although I knew he stayed the trip. He hasn’t been himself all season and has needed this better ground and sun on his back. He’s not had the sunshine, but he got the better ground and he’s class on his day."

“Coming to the second-last I was delighted because I realised I was going to be placed, and I thought ‘this is great, let’s just jump home’, then the front two [Teaforthree and Oscar Time] stopped in front of me at the last and I said to myself ‘this isn’t happening’. So I got down and gave him a shove and he quickened on past them."

“I heard the commentator say there was a loose horse behind me but I didn’t dare look round and just kept going.” 

2013 Full Result

1 Auroras Encore 11 10-3 Sue Smith Ryan Mania 66/1
2 Cappa Bleu 11 10-11 Evan Williams Paul Moloney 12/1
3 Teaforthree 9 11-3 Rebecca Curtis Nick Schofield 10/1
4 Oscar Time 12 10-11 Martin Lynch Mr Sam Waley-Cohen 66/1
5 Rare Bob 11 10-6 Dessie Hughes Bryan Cooper 16/1
6 Swing Bill 12 10-8 David Pipe Conor O’Farrell 80/1
7 Soll 8 10-0 Jo Hughes Mark Grant 33/1
8 Tarquinius 10 10-2 Gordon Elliott Wilson Renwick 100/1
9 Saint Are 7 10-8 Tim Vaughan Dougie Costello 50/1
10 Always Waining 12 10-10 Peter Bowen Tom O’Brien 33/1
11 Major Malarkey 10 10-0 Nigel Twiston-Davies Tom Scudamore 50/1
12 Join Together 8 11-2 Paul Nicholls Daryl Jacob 25/1
13 Seabass 10 11-6 Ted Walsh Ms Katie Walsh 11/2F
14 Across The Bay 9 11-2 Donald McCain Henry Brooke 40/1
15 Balthazar King 9 10-12 Philip Hobbs Richard Johnson 16/1
16 Quiscover Fontaine 9 10-7 Willie Mullins David Casey 40/1
17 Any Currency 10 10-0 Martin Keighley Ian Popham 100/1
Did Not Complete:
UR 8th Big fella Thanks 11 11-6 Tom George Denis O’Regan 33/1
UR 8th Treacle 12 10-4 Tom Taaffe Noel Fehily 33/1
UR 8th The Rainbow Hunter 9 10-6 Kim Bailey Aidan Coleman 50/1
PU before 11th Ninetieth Minute 10 10-3 Tom Taaffe Niall Madden 80/1
Fell 12th Tatenen 9 10-10 Richard Rowe Andrew Thornton 100/1
PU before 14th Viking Blond 8 10-0 Nigel Twiston-Davies Adam Wedge 66/1
UR 15th(The Chair) Colbert Station 9 11-1 Ted Walsh AP McCoy 12/1
PU before 17th Lost Glory 8 10-8 Jonjo O'Neill Mark Walsh 10/1
PU after 18th Joncol 10 10-13 Paul Nolan Robbie Power 50/1
PU after 18th What A Friend 10 11-9 Paul Nicholls Sam Thomas 33/1
PU before 21st Becauseicouldntsee 10 10-6 Noel Glynn MJ Ferris 66/1
PU before 22nd Imperial Commander 12 11-10 Nigel Twiston-Davies Sam Twiston-Davies 11/1
PU before 24th Ballabriggs 12 11-4 Donald McCain Jason Maguire 20/1
PU before 24th Forpadydeplasterer 11 11-0 Tom Cooper Andrew McNamara 66/1
PU before 24th Quel Esprit 9 11-7 Willie Mullins Paul Townend 40/1
PU before 24th Weird Al 10 11-8 Donald McCain Timmy Murphy 66/1
PU before 25th Harry The Viking 8 10-6 Paul Nicholls Ryan Mahon 40/1
Fell 25th On His Own 9 11-0 Willie Mullins Ruby Walsh 8/1
PU before 27th Mr Moonshine 9 10-5 Sue Smith Peter Buchanan 66/1
PU before last Chicago Grey 10 10-7 Gordon Elliott Paul Carberry 11/1
UR last Roberto Goldback 11 11-6 Nicky Henderson Barry Geraghty 25/1
UR last Sunnyhillboy 10 11-4 Jonjo O’Neill Ritchie McLernon 20/1
Refused last Mumbles Head 12 10-4 Peter Bowen Jamie Moore 100/1
By using this site you confirm you are 18+ and consent to our use of cookies and processing of personal data as set out in our Privacy Policy
Got it!